0 Menu

CLIPPING. 'splendor and misery' cd, vinyl, cassette

by clipping.

$10.00 / Sold Out

COPIES STILL AVAILABLE AT OUR NEW WEBSTORE: https://deathbombarc.myshopify.com/collections/hip-hop/products/clipping-splendor-misery-cd

DBA150 / SP1173 (co-release with Sub Pop Records)

CD edition (3 remaining)
Cassette edition (sold out) Try Sub Pop for copies.
Black vinyl (sold out) Try Sub Pop for copies.
Clear vinyl (sold out) Try Sub Pop for copies.

Deathbomb has been working with clipping. since their inception - releasing their first digital singles and debut physical release, the "Face" cassette. We are very excited to announce our return to working with clipping. for the co-release, with Sub Pop, or their new album 'Splendor & Misery'. ON PRE-SALE NOW!

Splendor & Misery is an Afrofuturist, dystopian concept album that follows the sole survivor of a slave uprising on an interstellar cargo ship, and the onboard computer that falls in love with him. Thinking he is alone and lost in space, the character discovers music in the ship’s shuddering hull and chirping instrument panels. William and Jonathan’s tracks draw an imaginary sonic map of the ship’s decks, hallways, and quarters, while Daveed’s lyrics ride the rhythms produced by its engines and machinery. In a reversal of H.P. Lovecraft’s concept of cosmic insignificance, the character finds relief in learning that humanity is of no consequence to the vast, uncaring universe. It turns out, pulling the rug out from under anthropocentrism is only horrifying to those who thought they were the center of everything to begin with. Ultimately, The character decides to pilot his ship into the unknown—and possibly into oblivion—instead of continuing on to worlds whose systems of governance and economy have violently oppressed him.

All purchases via the Deathbomb webstore for this item come with a special commemorative sticker, only available through our store. Orders through the Deathbomb webstore do not come with a patch, which is exclusively available at the Sub Pop store.

Digital edition exclusively at Sub Pop, click here for that..

1. Long Way Away (Intro)
2. The Breach
3. All Black
4. Interlude 01 (Freestyle)
5. Wake Up
6. Long Way Away
7. Interlude 02 (Numbers)
8. True Believer
9. Long Way Away (Instrumental)
10. Air 'Em Out
11. Interlude 03 (Freestyle)
12. Break The Glass
13. Story 5
14. Baby Don't Sleep
15. A Better Place

For even more clipping. items - albums, merch, and sideprojects - CLICK HERE.